April Goals

After reading quite a few personal finance blogs regularly over the past year or so, one of my goals for 2010 was to start my own within 3 months, and here I am, squeaking in during the last few hours of March!  I feel like I’ve learned so much from the blogs I’ve been reading and realized that I would love to take part in the community of PF bloggers I see on the web.

One aspect of PF blogs that seems to have widespread success is the public posting of goals.  I remember reading a study that showed that people who wrote down their goals were more successful in achieving them.  The supposed “Harvard Goals Study” is one I remember hearing before, but it is just a myth.  However,  Dr. Gail Matthews, a clinical psychologist at Dominican University, studies goals and behavior and has found that people who make a written goal and hold  themselves to another person are significantly more likely to accomplish the goal.  I hope that by writing down my goals in this blog and sharing them with other PF bloggers, I will be more likely to achieve them.  Have you had any experiences with goal-setting?

April Goals:

Finance:

  • File 2009 Taxes
  • File 2010 quarterly taxes
  • Record spending weekly
  • Advertise for roommates

Personal:

  • Exercise at least 4 times a week
  • Run up to 3 miles continuously
  • Cook and share two new healthy recipes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April Goals

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

